Life lessons from a 13 year old

I have never underestimated how much us ‘adults’ (I use that term loosely as most of the time I still feel like a child) can learn from children. Their way of viewing the world through uninfluenced eyes is always remarkable and I was reminded of this during a recent babysitting appointment.

I was babysitting for one of BOKAC’s first families who have a 9 year old daughter and a 13 year old son. I was chatting to their son about exams and how he feels about them having recently completed his 13+ and now that GCSE’s weren’t too far away.

I used to HATE exams. To the extent that I would cry myself to sleep before a class test, because I was so worried about it. I was always a hard worker but the format and process of an exam would send me into turmoil. Even now, I count my lucky stars that exams are over and I will (hopefully) never have to take one again.

I obviously didn’t relay this to their son and just said that they were never my strong point. His reply was that actually, he enjoyed exams because it meant there was something tangible to work towards and whatever the outcome, there was always a sense of satisfaction having done it. Even if you didn’t do as well as you hoped, you could still feel proud of the preparation you went through beforehand and know that you had achieved something by completing the task (these were pretty much his exact words, although I wasn’t writing them down!).

I was so impressed by his mature, wise and grounded attitude and it has been on my mind all day. We always focus on the result, without stopping to congratulate ourselves for the work we are putting in to get there or appreciating how much we’re learning on the way.

This lesson is paraphrased in lots of different ways but to hear it from someone relatively young and specifically related to exams, which I had always bookmarked as a topic I had nothing positive to say about (except that they’re over) made me see it with fresh eyes.

This conversation is yet another reason why I love running Babysitters of Kensington & Chelsea (and now Babysitters of Southwark too!) so much.

What are some of the life lessons that you’ve learnt from children?

Leave a Reply

